Jump to content


The Official MCM Forum Troubleshooting Topic

Internet Explorer Cant Upload Pics Click Compatibility View

  • You cannot reply to this topic
212 replies to this topic

#181 landman

landman

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Ontario
  • Full Name:Pat St-Martin

Posted 06 June 2014 - 01:39 AM

Is there a reason why the Quote function won't work for me? I click on the quote button when I want to respond directly to a particular post and nothing happens. I tried to copy & paste the post I want to respond to and nothing happens? Is it it mycomputer that's the culprit?


Edited by landman, 06 June 2014 - 01:40 AM.


#182 slusher

slusher

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,519 posts
  • Location:tennessee
  • Full Name:carl slusher

Posted 06 June 2014 - 02:16 AM

Is there a reason why the Quote function won't work for me? I click on the quote button when I want to respond directly to a particular post and nothing happens. I tried to copy & paste the post I want to respond to and nothing happens? Is it it mycomputer that's the culprit?

 If you want to quote use the quote tab at the bottom right of the page...



#183 Harry P.

Harry P.

    MCM Ohana

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,461 posts
  • Location:NW suburban Chicago
  • Full Name:A mere layman...

Posted 06 June 2014 - 03:48 AM

Are you clicking on the "QUOTE" button at the lower right? When you say "nothing happens," what do you mean? Does the reply window open?



#184 Casey

Casey

    MCM Ohana

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,015 posts
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI
  • Full Name:Casey Littmann

Posted 06 June 2014 - 04:46 AM

Is there a reason why the Quote function won't work for me? I click on the quote button when I want to respond directly to a particular post and nothing happens. I tried to copy & paste the post I want to respond to and nothing happens? Is it it mycomputer that's the culprit?

 

Are you running IE as your web browser? If so, start here: http://www.modelcars...ic=81824&page=3



#185 High octane

High octane

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,849 posts
  • Location:Midwest
  • Full Name:Nick

Posted 06 June 2014 - 05:36 AM

It doesn't seem to work for me either for some reason, and it used to.



#186 landman

landman

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Ontario
  • Full Name:Pat St-Martin

Posted 06 June 2014 - 05:55 AM

The reply window opens but the posting I'm quting doesn't appear as it does in my other forums.



#187 Harry P.

Harry P.

    MCM Ohana

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22,461 posts
  • Location:NW suburban Chicago
  • Full Name:A mere layman...

Posted 06 June 2014 - 06:08 AM

Try a different web browser. Try Chrome or Firefox or Safari. See if that solves the problem. I'm betting it will.



#188 tbill

tbill

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,447 posts
  • Location:central NY
  • Full Name:tom billings

Posted 06 June 2014 - 02:00 PM

fwiw, I use IE and it works fine for me. granted, no help for your issue, but thought I would mention I use it with no issues [knocks on wood].



#189 Tom Geiger

Tom Geiger

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,327 posts
  • Location:Exton, PA
  • Full Name:Tom Geiger

Posted 07 June 2014 - 05:40 PM

I too had issues with IE and am now using Chrome to read this board



#190 Danno

Danno

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,815 posts
  • Location:Okay. By now you all know ~ Aridzona.
  • Full Name:Nameless Natural Luminary

Posted 07 June 2014 - 07:10 PM

I'm using IE, too.  Had the same problem after IE was upgraded to IE-11.0. 

 

Here's the fix:

 

Upper right corner of your screen, there are three icons under the 'minimize-maximize-close' buttons.  They are a house icon, the 'Favorites' star, and a cog (some people call it a snowflake).

 

You want the cog icon.  Click on it.

 

That gives you a menu box.  The10th selection down is "Compatibility View Settings."  Click on it.

 

That gives you another menu box that allows you to "Add This Website."  The website name "modelcarsmag.com" should be preloaded in the box.  Click the "Add" button to its right.  Then Click the "Close" button and you're done.

 

 

Now the 'quote' and all other functions of the board should work properly for you.



#191 uncle potts

uncle potts

    MCM Avid Poster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 459 posts
  • Location:sioux city
  • Full Name:paul cowell

Posted 07 June 2014 - 11:13 PM

I'm using IE, too.  Had the same problem after IE was upgraded to IE-11.0. 

 

Here's the fix:

 

Upper right corner of your screen, there are three icons under the 'minimize-maximize-close' buttons.  They are a house icon, the 'Favorites' star, and a cog (some people call it a snowflake).

 

You want the cog icon.  Click on it.

 

That gives you a menu box.  The10th selection down is "Compatibility View Settings."  Click on it.

 

That gives you another menu box that allows you to "Add This Website."  The website name "modelcarsmag.com" should be preloaded in the box.  Click the "Add" button to its right.  Then Click the "Close" button and you're done.

 

 

Now the 'quote' and all other functions of the board should work properly for you.

 Thanks Danno. I had the same problem, now its fixed.



#192 landman

landman

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Location:Ontario
  • Full Name:Pat St-Martin

Posted 08 June 2014 - 12:58 AM

I'm using IE, too.  Had the same problem after IE was upgraded to IE-11.0. 

 

Here's the fix:

 

Upper right corner of your screen, there are three icons under the 'minimize-maximize-close' buttons.  They are a house icon, the 'Favorites' star, and a cog (some people call it a snowflake).

 

You want the cog icon.  Click on it.

 

That gives you a menu box.  The10th selection down is "Compatibility View Settings."  Click on it.

 

That gives you another menu box that allows you to "Add This Website."  The website name "modelcarsmag.com" should be preloaded in the box.  Click the "Add" button to its right.  Then Click the "Close" button and you're done.

 

 

Now the 'quote' and all other functions of the board should work properly for you.

 

Thanks Danno, now I see why they call you a Natural Luminary.



#193 Tom Geiger

Tom Geiger

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,327 posts
  • Location:Exton, PA
  • Full Name:Tom Geiger

Posted 03 July 2014 - 10:28 AM

Is anyone else having a problem with the "View New Content" button?   It returns no results.  And that's on three different browsers on two different computers. I've tried it in IE, Chrome and Safari.   



#194 Ramfins59

Ramfins59

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,903 posts
  • Location:Cranberry township pa
  • Full Name:Richard Manson

Posted 03 July 2014 - 11:36 AM

I've had no problems with the "View New Content" button.  I'm using Google Chrome.



#195 jeffs396

jeffs396

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,149 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio
  • Full Name:Jeff

Posted 03 July 2014 - 12:14 PM

Today is the 1st time the 'View New Content' has appeared on the R/H toolbar at work (old browser/operating system).

 

I like the change! B)

 

Still works at home as it always did...



#196 Brett Barrow

Brett Barrow

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,267 posts
  • Location:Deep in the swamps of Jersey
  • Full Name:Genius billionaire playboy philanthropist Brett M. Barrow, Esq.

Posted 03 July 2014 - 01:29 PM

Sometimes when I click it only shows new members (if any) Just have to click "forums" and it's normal.

#197 Danno

Danno

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,815 posts
  • Location:Okay. By now you all know ~ Aridzona.
  • Full Name:Nameless Natural Luminary

Posted 03 July 2014 - 07:10 PM

Landman said:  "Thanks Danno, now I see why they call you a Natural Luminary."

 

 

 

You're too kind.  It's actually because I once drove a Chevy Lumina, and it seemed natural.   :P

 

{By the way, it was a company car - I wouldn't have selected a Lumina as a personal car, although it was very competent and effective for our purposes.}



#198 Tom Geiger

Tom Geiger

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,327 posts
  • Location:Exton, PA
  • Full Name:Tom Geiger

Posted 04 July 2014 - 05:59 AM

I've had no problems with the "View New Content" button.  I'm using Google Chrome.

 

 

Sometimes when I click it only shows new members (if any) Just have to click "forums" and it's normal.

 

I can click it when I'm in members mode and it will show the members who joined in the last day or so.

But outside of that it just returns a "no new messages found".  Since I've tested this on all the browsers, and on both my computers, it must be in my account settings.  It wouldn't be in my cookie on this computer since it worked on both.  Is there a way I can get this reset by a moderator?  



#199 Tom Geiger

Tom Geiger

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,327 posts
  • Location:Exton, PA
  • Full Name:Tom Geiger

Posted 31 August 2014 - 06:45 AM

 

 

 

I can click it when I'm in members mode and it will show the members who joined in the last day or so.

But outside of that it just returns a "no new messages found".  Since I've tested this on all the browsers, and on both my computers, it must be in my account settings.  It wouldn't be in my cookie on this computer since it worked on both.  Is there a way I can get this reset by a moderator?  

 

I'm still not able to use my View New Content button when logged in.  I've tried it on every device, in every browser including my smart phone.  If I am NOT logged in, I will see all the new content.  IF I click it when I'm logged in as me, I get a no new content message.  There must be some button they can press in my account?  Something like the date in my last time visited stuck?   It's been this way for a long time, I've mentioned it to the moderators and Dave Ambrose with no solution.  It's aggravating since that's the way I'd view the board.



#200 tubbs

tubbs

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,552 posts
  • Location:Mantua, Ohio
  • Full Name:Al Matheny

Posted 20 September 2014 - 12:21 PM

we just got a new computer and I cannot use the "quote" button, nor can I cut and paste into the reply box. does anyone know of a setting that will reverse this? I took a look and can't seem to find one. any help will be appreciated.

 

have a great day,

Tubbs