Model Cars Magazine Forum

1970 Chevrolet Chevelle (weekend build)

Lovefordgalaxie

I have a friend that is into this thing of building models only over weekends.

Well, he asked me if I would join him and other two of his pals on a weekend build. The rules were simple. The model had to be 1/25 scale, had to had an engine (no curbside) and finally, all parts had to be painted, including the body (no such thing as "it's a lovely shade of plastic, I'll just polish it to a shine").

The guy is a GM maniac, he owns a sweet 1957 Bel Air four door black over red that I find to be of extreme good taste, and he was the one picking the theme. It was GM musclecar. For my luck I had just the thing: A AMT 1970 Chevelle. A simple kit, not too many parts, and that I thought it would be easy to put together.

We had from 00:00 of Saturday to 12:00 of Sunday.

I started painting the body, as always. Gave it a couple of primer coats, as I was going to use automotive paint, but couldn't afford to wait overnight for it to dry, so I shot the paint on the body just two hours after primering.

That's when the problems started. The primer was not 100% dry, so the paint "called" some of the mold lines back. Also crazed the plastic a little here and there. No way I would strip that in time, so I just kept modeling.

After another hour, I the paint was dry enough to decal the body.

Decals on, I let the body rest on our summer 38 degree Celsius heat for some hours.

Then, I used Testors flat black acrylic to paint almost everything else but the engine, that I painted with Testors Chevy Orange acrylic.

When I finished that, the decals wouldn't move anymore under my finger, so I clear coated the body, and again let it to dry, this time overnight.

Still on Saturday, I painted all silver details (exhaust, transmission, interior trim, dash trim, and some firewall pieces) with Testors silver chrome enamel.