Model Cars Magazine Forum

Painting a Manx using enamels for the first time.

I usually use all lacquer based products and i have a farily good working technique for those. Enamels this is my first time.

My plan is to use Testors' Metalflake Green out of the little square bottles with lacquer thinner 2:1. Am i limited to using Testor's Clear Enamel as a top coat or can i use Dupli Color Acrylic?

What is the name of the Testor's clear enamel? I presume at least two coats? Polishing required?

Please let me know if you see any problems. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

joe.

Guest G Holding

Donn loves Mr Murphy....The Acryl will work....BUT if your doing it Donns way..You will die when you see the shine before clear! Only Issue I see with Donns Enamel clear...it is and does yellow..MM makes a clear LACQUER for over enamels that is clear, will work perfect and the label says for use on Enamels. MM # 2017

The only color that I've had the clear yellow on was white . Yes , I know others have suffered with lighter colors doing the same thing , I haven't !

Difference being , I believe that my cleaning and waxing the models for the vending and show tables on a regular basis prevents this from occurring . Leave a 1:1 sit for a long period of time without cleaning the finish and watch what happens , regardless of what product it was painted with . It will dull out , fade , and yellow as time passes !

Thanks so much guys. Evidently this request was moved and i was just able to find it. I use strips of white styrene to track incompatibility. I really has been a model saver!!!

Donn,

Do you also use lacquer thinner for the Clear Top Coat????

thanks again,

joe.

Joe, I don't think you have to use any undercoat, but the color under it does make some difference. Here it is over black primer. It's actually darker than this pic shows.

Monstertruck009.jpg