Model Cars Magazine Forum

1929 MercedesSSK

kennb

Yes I bought some kits.........................................................This is a Lindberg kit which I have never done before.

DSCN4660_zps972e4b95.jpg

Opening the box most things were bagged except for the chrome????should it not be bagged???????????????

Really overall the kit is flash free and nice crisp moldings.....Like the Monogram Rolls it is stiff tho.......

The motor is basic with little detailing and has almost a too mechanical feel to it,,,,,,I am used to the AMT,MPC where they have a more "earthy" feel to them.....The molds also feel a little thin but still fine.

DSCN4661_zps5a162fdd.jpg

The rubber tires are nicely detailed and pressed but the rims are in my estimation the downfall in the entire kit. I know wire wheels are hard to do but these are flat and have no depth to them.

I will be building this one in the future and of course will use real wire anyway so it is not a problem.

DSCN4662_zpseb3cfa93.jpg

There is a lot of chrome in this one. again it feels still and maybe to much "toy" like. I think it has to do with not taking the time to "round" out the tooling....I am sure most will understand if they have delt with this type of kit before.....

It seems that when they make these older exotics they forget how to tool them like they do the more modern cars.....

But all in all a good starting place that could produce a great model if you take the time to fill it out some.

One detail that almost everyone overlooks when building any kit of this car is that the brake drums should be copper-plated. BMF copper is perfect. And the wire wheels should be painted.

You'll find some amazing hand-built, large-scale Mercedes models here (scroll down):

http://www.fineartmodels.com/fineartmodels.com/Mercedes_SSk_SSKL.html

They are gorgous hand builts for sure,,,,Makes mine look terrible but then they take more than a few weeks to build............................ -_-