Model Cars Magazine Forum

AMT 40 Ford Sedan Stock Car , first time building

CrazyGirl

oop's anyway i must have made a boo boo , back when i was little my neighbor had a stock car , a 40 Ford Sedan and when i first heard that race car it sent chills and i have never forgotten it so i must be getting nutty in my old age so i figure build a model as i remember this race car , this is my first time doing such a thing and maybe the first girl on here do to this , or maybe not , we come a long way baby !! lol anyway , the inside is an off white and the color of the car is baby blue , like the hood , so far this has been a blast !! Anne

hey Thanks guys , but i am going to be coming to a stop on this real fast ,, the problem is the chassis from what i remember about this car is i know it didn't have the 40 ford chassis , it's been 50 years since i have seen this car but i sure remember the insides so thats not a problem my problem now is the suspension , oh well , this may take some time to sort out

i must be posting the pics wrong ,, anyway the paint is perfectly imperfect i think ,, as i remember on the real stock car the doors were welded shut , but had some gaps and i tried to do the same , on this body i shaved off all the molding and door handles and wiper blades and on the firewall i removed all the molded in wiring and junk , i remember the real car had an aluminum fire wall , or maybe steel but it was not painted , it was semi shiny so i bought some Bare-Metal matte aluminum and i will use it on the firewall , do that tomorrow

Another Bay-Stater! Where abouts are you?

Anne, if you're not busy on the 17th, why not come to MassCar's show. It'll be at the Holiday Inn in Taunton from 9-ish to about 3:00 or 4:00. We have three special classes this year: best green (color) car, best Corvette and best American Independent (e.g., Hudson, Packard, Studebaker, etc.).