Model Cars Magazine Forum

My first garage DIO

rustymodeler

Hey guys, I have been wanting to do some kind of diorama for along time now and wasnt sure what I wanted to do, so I decided to build a garage. I have never done anything like this before and was not sure where to start so I researched framing garages and found alot od good stuff. It would be completely difficult to frame it just like the professionals do, but I think it turned out pretty good. I am going to try to put balso wood on the sides and find something to use as siding. If anyone has any ideas I could use for the siding please help me out here. 2012-09-05_16-55-24_683.jpg2012-09-05_16-55-42_540_Kearney.jpg2012-09-05_16-55-54_976.jpg

Evergreen makes some styrene clapboard that looks pretty good. You might want to try that.

I believe Northeastern and Kappler Scale Lumber also offer individual bass or balsa clapboards.

Grandt Line and Northeastern have windows that will work, or you can scratch them.

Charlie Larkin

Ok, heres what I have done so far. I got some sheets of balsa wood to act as plywood and glued to the side. And than I got some smaller strip1/16 x 1/4 balsa wood and I am going to glue to the plywood and stack to look like siding. That will be a project I will have to tackle tomorrow.I am not happy with the door, but it will probably change once I get everything else taken care of.2012-09-06_21-00-17_123_Kearney.jpg2012-09-06_20-59-01_182_Kearney.jpg2012-09-04_20-06-48_933_Kearney.jpg2012-09-06_19-01-50_512_Kearney.jpg