Model Cars Magazine Forum

After a break of about 15 years or so (I've built one model in that time period) I have decided to get back into the swing of things. This is my first attempt. It's going to be a box stock, for my pleasure only build. Nothing fancy. Just trying to see if I can still do this stuff. Updates my be a little sparse as I have to get some supplies as I go along. So please don't get upset with long update periods. I should have more than these pictures this weekend at some point in time. Yall stay tuned!

DSCN0555.jpg

DSCN0556.jpg

Edited by southernboy

The red will definitely be gone! I'm thinking a dark metallic green with a white top (the removable top). This kit so far leaves a few things to be desired. The chassis is one of those with the exhaust and such molded in. And, it looks (need to look closer) that there is no true fire wall. There may be a gap in the engine bay between the body and interior tub. It's just a basic kit. Which is what I wanted.

BTW, what got you back into the hobby?

Well, I never actually left. Just stopped building. I now have time after my daughter goes to bed (single parent) every night to do my own thing. Needed something to do with the couple hours between when she goes to bed and when I decide to. Seemed a perfect fit!

It's a Testors flat green. A military color that I don't remember the name of right off hand. I will look tonight and let you know.

Edit: Came home for lunch because I remembered there was left over pizza. It is Testors Flat Beret Green.

Edited by southernboy

Not a big update, but I did manage to finish up the interior and get the dash painted. Going to wait till after I paint the underside of the tub body colored to put the dash in. That way it won't be such a pain to tape off the tub for painting. I have to grab some more supplies so the next update may take a while. Enjoy!

DSCN0564_zps3bbef6a8.jpg

DSCN0565_zpse51fd311.jpg

DSCN0566_zpsed821627.jpg