Model Cars Magazine Forum

In house spray booth

Let me set the scene. I live in a townhouse complex which has restrictions about mechanical vents or such through the outside walls. I do my modeling in a spare bedroom/den. I would like to do my painting in the room as opposed to a cold garage. Does anyone have plans or ideas for an "in house" paint booth? Fumes are not a problem ( I live by my self ). Also, what about incorporating a light bulb in it to speed drying times? My first thought was a cardboard box with a small computer fan for exhaust with one of those face masks for a filter and a small lazy suzan thing to rotate parts as I paint.

I'm not an expert on building a homemade booth........but I can tell you that a regular face mask WILL NOT cut it against potentially dangerous paint fumes! :blink: You definitely want to invest in a full dual chamber respirator that will fend off the toxic fumes as well as the paint particles.

I myself have a paint booth I bought at a local hobby shop.........but it was pricey so that may not be the route you want to go................

PA280742-vi.jpg

As far as speeding up drying times a light bulb might get a little dangerous around a cardboard unit :o ..............I use a food dehydrator that I picked up at the local Wally World for around 40 bucks. It's really great because you can set the temp at 105° and you're all set. Within 24 hours I'm all set to rub out and polish the paint.

Some other guys may chime in on homebuilt units that they may have built.....................they can give you some pointers. :D

I did a kitchen remodel and this old cabinet looked to be better served as my new spray booth. Silicone sealed the bottom edges of the top shelf to reduce overspray drift. Bought a lighted bathroom fan and dryer vent.

Do you think you could sneak a dryer vent out the side of your townhouse?

paintbooth2.jpg