Model Cars Magazine Forum

Tell me about your spray booth please...

Hi All,

I did some lookin' around on the internet and got some info, but I wanted to hear from some of you. If you're using a spray booth please school me on it. What brand,likes,dislikes? Pictures would be great. Thanks,Smokey

20 bucks....oven range hood 1 piece of angle iron 2 old utility shelves vented out through dryer vent...shure beats 300 bucks and will suck paint fumes out of the room,allready has a filter and has a light

Did you piece yours together or did you have some kind of plans? I'd love to be able to do one myself!

Pace Paint Booths are all you need to know. They are engineered by someone with 40+ years experience in the field. Safe and efficient too. Be careful with a home made booth or you could end up like this guy.

Paint Booth Explosion

never saw that before thanks for the post i have been using this setup for over 10 years with no problem spraying automotive paints never thought of this, as of the last year i have been shooting with fascolor acrylic baseed

Whatever you do, make sure to use an explosion proof motor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Using an oven vent hood motor that is not explosion proof can have very bad results!!!!

Vaporized paint is VERY flammable and the windings of a regular motor will ignite the fumes causing a huge fireball!!

never saw that before thanks for the post i have been using this setup for over 10 years with no problem spraying automotive paints never thought of this, as of the last year i have been shooting with fascolor acrylic baseed

You are on borrowed time. The paint builds up on the windings and will cause them to overheat and short out. You do NOT want that to happen when spraying.

Tom

Here is the Badger I have now. It works great and filters can be bought at local home stores.

PaintBooth-vi.jpg