Model Cars Magazine Forum

50 Olds Gasser

Hollywood Jim

Hello !!

Here are some progress shots of my 50 Olds Gasser. This is the first gasser I have ever built.

I trying to replicate an old barn find gasser. Maybe something like this:

BlackAuto084__Small_-vi.jpg

Here is where I'm at so far.

Img_7779-vi.jpg

Img_7782-vi.jpg

Img_7783-vi.jpg

I need to add the transmission linkages.

Img_7786-vi.jpg

I used the front suspension from the 1933 Chrysler kit. It fit so well, I just had to use it. The white parts are scratch built items.

Img_7787-vi.jpg

Img_7790-vi.jpg

Img_7794-vi.jpg

Here I’m experimenting with some different rust colors.

Img_7796-vi.jpg

Very cool piece Hollywood! The radius job looks spot on. That's one thing that, if not done cleanly, can ruin things. You nailed it. They match the front very well. I'll be watching this.

Thank you all !!

Bryan:

I'm new to this gasser thing. In 1960 when some guy wanted to race his dads old car, he had to cut out the rear wheel wells so that the slicks would fit.

What do you mean radius job looks correct? Matching the front? I don't get it.

I thought the guys would take a hack saw and just start cutting until the slicks fit........ ??????????

Thank you all !!

Bryan:

I'm new to this gasser thing. In 1960 when some guy wanted to race his dads old car, he had to cut out the rear wheel wells so that the slicks would fit.

What do you mean radius job looks correct? Matching the front? I don't get it.

I thought the guys would take a hack saw and just start cutting until the slicks fit........ ??????????

.I like the way they are very similar to the shape of the front wheel wells. It makes it look clean and planned. You have a very consistant radius....to me that's a nice look. If they were three sided or something else, it wouldn't look nearly as good. Great job!

Edited by BHarrison