Model Cars Magazine Forum

Revell LaFerrari VS. Tamiya LaFerrari - Content comparison

mademan

Ive had a few people ask me to post a review/ comparison of the LaFerrari kit, so I figured I would post both for everyone to see the contents of each kit. I apologize for some of the photos, I am still learning to use this camera (Canon t3i)

IMG_6208_zpscbeadc56.jpg

]

First up, the Revell kit

IMG_6210_zps0617bad2.jpg

The body is mostly 1 large piece, molded in white. and the doors do NOT open.

IMG_6214_zps9b0926e7.jpg

IMG_6216_zps699ad0e4.jpg

IMG_6217_zpsca3252bd.jpg

IMG_6218_zps7b60aee7.jpg

IMG_6219_zpsdc346d6f.jpg

the decals look good, the chrome is very shiney, included in the packaging is some mesh for vents

IMG_6220_zps3fabed1b.jpg

The wheels to me are just "Meh" chrome is bright and shiney

IMG_6221_zps9ef971c0.jpg

tires are decent, they have sidewall detail

IMG_6223_zps6362bca1.jpg

Now for the Tamiya

IMG_6209_zps950c70d7.jpg

The body is multi piece, including opening doors

IMG_6225_zps3c98492e.jpg

IMG_6226_zpsbaf005c2.jpg

the front bumper is multi-piece with a separate valance, whereas the Revell kit is all 1 piece.

IMG_6227_zpsd4669935.jpg

Engine detail is excellent

IMG_6228_zps58621696.jpg

Multi-piece "skeleton" and chassis, whereas the Revell chassis and wells are 1 piece

IMG_6230_zps007d5785.jpg

the wheels are a Matte finish and are VERY NICE, all 1 piece, versus the Revell shiney chrome face with plastic "barrels". The tires are INCREDIBLE with very nice sidewall detail and nice tread.

IMG_6231_zps9068c0f9.jpg

This kit also comes with metal stickers, decals and mesh for the vents

IMG_6232_zps3320f1c9.jpg

NOT INCLUDED with the kit, but available from Tamiya, is this Carbon Fiber decal template which is very nice also.

IMG_6233_zpsfad9102b.jpg

The Tamiya kit is much crisper overall, Once I get into actually building I will see how each go together, Im sure the revel will build up nicely, however the Tamiya has much more detail.