Model Cars Magazine Forum

New guy here...first post!

Harry P.

These are all drawn (painted?) digitally in Photoshop. I use a photo as a reference, but sometimes I change things around to suit me (different wheels, different colors, etc.). The Firepower, for example, has Corvette wheels!

The originals are 12x18, created at 300 dpi (print resolution).

Back in the "old days" I did it all with an airbrush on illustration board (how crude! :D) , but I made the switch to Photoshop years ago. Now I never run out of "paint", I have an unlimited color palette, and my airbrush never clogs! :D When I was using an airbrush I painted with acrylics, and I swear I spent more time unclogging my airbrush than painting!

And yes, I do illustration for a living...I'm a graphic artist/designer. But these car illustrations are just for my own enjoyment.

Nope. I start just as I would if I was using a "real" airbrush...by laying down the basic blocks or areas of color, building shadows and hilights over that, then adding smaller details, etc. Instead of masking areas by cutting the shape out of frisket with an xacto, I "mask" the area I'm working on by defining the shape I want with the various PS tools, like the "lasso", the ellipse (circle) tool, etc. Then I fill in the colors in that area using the airbrush, the paint bucket, the brush...whatever tool works best for the effect I'm after, and then I move on to the next area, etc. I use the various Photoshop tools in different combinations to get the effect I want, but basically I'm "painting" electronically. It sounds complicated, but once you get used to the process it's actually easier than painting with "real" paints and airbrush...because I spend no time cleaning the airbrush, or mixing paint, or fixing areas where the paint bled under the frisket, or trying to figure out how to remove that blob of paint the airbrush just spattered onto my work, or...well, you get the idea!