Model Cars Magazine Forum

Thunderbolt colors

gtx6970

I am getting some ideas for winter projects and it's all Thunderbolts

What is the best rattle can choices for both the Maroon ( and Gold ) on the Tasca Ford and the Phil Bonner cars ?

Butch Leals car was black correct ?

Was the Conner Ford car a bright white or more of a milky white ?

I've gotten really close matches to the Ford burgundy color with Testors burgundy red. I've used Testors light blue as an undercoat, and the result is remarkable. I own a Heritage Burgundy '63 Falcon Sprint, and it's amazing how similar the painted model is to the real car.

I'm no expert and don't have access to the full size paints you mention, but I have built most of these cars using Tamiya paints. The Tasca car used the cans mentioned by Carl. I picked up a can of Champagne Gold car paint to best match a picture I had of the Bob Ford car. As an aside, I believe all cars came with tan coloured interiors.

I hope you have as much fun as I did, they are great kits to build with very few issues. :)

004-2.jpg

bobford2_zps458e032f.jpg

Edited by maltsr

Many Thanks fellas.

I will pick up the Tamaya paint next week if my local hobby shop has it, if not I will get some ordered.

Already have the Champange color on hand ( used it for a 1965 Dodge Interior color )

I think these kits set the bar for Revell and I have maybe 10-12 kits unbuilt . Already have the Hubert Platt and Gas Ronda cars done.

Platt2_zps603a1b94.jpg

Ronda1_zps84ff28ca.jpg

Edited by gtx6970

I bought one from Yates Ford in Chicago, it was Baby Blue with a two tone blue interior!! I wish that I still had it, but with a new baby, I had to get rid of it!

when did you buy your t-bolt?was there a sponser name on the car?the reason I ask is I was not aware of the interior color other than gold/beige.of course anyone could have had the car painted blue after delivery.

Great info.

I will ck the Krylon color for the interiors .