Model Cars Magazine Forum

Old school race car

I'm just getting started on the Pocher 1907 Fiat Grand Prix racer. After the Pocher Alfa I just finished, this one is child's play. No lights, no fenders, no windows, no interior upholstery...just a huge 4 cylinder engine and a chassis, basically.

I scrapped the ugly brown plastic kit pieces that are supposed to represent wooden planks on the floorboard and dash. First I removed the "metal" band from the dash...

fiat2.jpg

and used the Pocher piece as a template for my new wooden parts made with thin sheet balsa wood. Walnut stain and a coat of satin polyurethane gave me exactly the look I wanted:

fiat5.jpg

Gauge "glass" is clear 5-minute epoxy.

A little more progress...

fiat9.jpg

The engine still needs a lot of additional work (like the entire induction system for example!)...but it's looking pretty good so far:

fiat12.jpg

Very cool looking build so far Harry! I am looking forward to seeing this one. A note on the wood.... if I had heard you were going to use balsa for the wood planks I've tried to talk you into using "Bass wood" instead. The grain is denser, the wood stronger and it looks more realistic in my opinion. BUT, you pulled it off with the balsa my friend. I agree, the look is perfect!

;)

The basswood didn't have any real grain to it...it was too "plain" looking. Plus, I figured the balsa would be so much easier to cut (it is!). Maybe the balsa grain is a little out of scale, but I like the way it turned out. The stain turned out just right. I'll have to post a photo of the floorboards...they look pretty cool, IMHO. ;)

Are those spring shackles really brass or just plated plastic? I am thinking that the brass is pretty enough and your build is beautiful. But, the real car would NEVER use brass in this location! Brass is too soft a material for such a critical part.

J