Model Cars Magazine Forum

Help needed with casting an Merlin V12

so, I am new to this. First I made a mold, which was surprisingly easy and looks pretty good to me. But then the problems start as I wanted to make resin copy's.

My first attempt went not so good because, after filling the filler hole, when curing the resin pulled back and I don't have a left valvecover, plus a lot of airbubbles.

My second atttempt isn't much better, still missing my valvecover and even though it has some more detail, it still doesn't look good.

Both times, the resin looks like honey (color wise) and stays stickey, even after 8 hours in the mold. I tried to make a 1:1 mixing ratio based on weight and 1:1 mixing ratio on volume, but both with the same result.

I inject my resin via a spout(?) and have 2 shafts in the top of the mold, one to release air or so I thought and one to fill. I will add pictures later.

Please help me to understand resin and how I can make a decent copy.

Thanks,

Since I don't know which type of resin I have, I can't tell you whether it is 90 or 180 second. What I do know is that I have 20 pounds of it, so I am stuck with what I have and need to learn how to deal with this stuff.

I will try another go, but with the addition of baby-powder and use the airing tube as a filler tube and the other way around, bot the airing and filler tube are on the highest point of the engine.

Some pictures:

resin001.jpg

resin002.jpg

resin003.jpg

resin004.jpg

resin005.jpg

resin006.jpg

resin007.jpg

resin008.jpg

resin009.jpg

resin010.jpg

How old is your resin? From the pics, it looks like your resin has gone bad. When did you buy it and how long has it been open? Most resins have a finite lifespan after being opened and exposed to oxygen... usually a couple of weeks...

The missing valve cover is caused by a large air bubble gathering in that part of the mold.