Model Cars Magazine Forum

'50 Ford F1 street truck (completed 8/23/08)

JayVee

I'm just starting out on this street truck project. The rims in the latest release of the kit have a pretty beefy look to them suitable for a truck but I wanted to widen the front wheels and widen the rear wheels even more, so I added Pegasus sleeves to the rear wheels and used wide Pegasus tires up front:

fifty_pu3.jpg

The chassis and drivetrain will be from the '41 Willy's coupe kit. I think that hemi will fit nicely under this tall hood. I'll need to graft two chassis together to get the right length. The seats are from one of the Revell tuner kits. I'm thinking of using Testor's Evening Orchid paint with a clear pearl coat. If I add flames I'm thinking about painting true fire licks with clear purple, clear red, and maybe clear blue. The Evening Orchid is a light color so it would serve as the base color for the true fire, and the tinted clear licks would be painted using templates, as opposed to the standard true fire scheme of painting the solid base colors with templates and overcoating with tinted clears.

fifty_pu4.jpg

This project is based on the same basic concept as this '57 Chevy street truck I did a while ago that has two WagonRod chassis grafted together:

Chevy_pu576.jpg

ChevyPu1.jpg

Here goes!

-JV

Edited by JayVee

Here's the new chassis (basically a stretched version of the Willys coupe chassis). The original chassis was used to set the wheelbase. The chassis mounting points were repositioned to mount to the cab floorboard, and the upper control arms were seperated because they'll be repositioned with spacers to lower the front end. Whenever I narrow a set of Pegasus wheels I use a razor saw and save the excess chrome rings to be used to widen rims as shown on these wheels:

fifty_pu5.jpg

Here's the chassis in place. Next I'll modify the bed floor to clear the rear wheels, frame, and axle diff. There will be Dremel plastic shavings everywhere as usual: