Model Cars Magazine Forum

Used tape for a fabric look on interior.

I thought I would try something I read on here to give the interior a fabric look. I had some medical tape from years back and taped it to the seat and doors to give it a little better look than just painting it.

I taped and trimmed then used a Sharpie to add the silver color. I also used it on the floor board to simulate a low profile carpet.

Made it look a lot better than just paint.

I am just a beginner on models and I think I made it look a little better.

Richard

post-6348-0-82783500-1384348865_thumb.jp

post-6348-0-97707100-1384348893_thumb.jp

post-6348-0-30495000-1384348913_thumb.jp

Looks fantastic. Can you post a pic of the tape you used?

Thanks Jim

It is a tape I had to use for a bandage a few years back and was what I had on hand. It is real thin and doesn't seem to have a pattern to the surface. It went on and stuck real good. Trimmed with a x-acto knife.

I tried it on a piece of plastic before I stuck it on the interior. I have a silver sharpie and after sticking it on, I just added the sharpie to it. I used a toothpick to work the seams in the seat and sides. The floorboard is the same with black sharpie.

This brand is Kendall Tenderskin. I'm sure this or similar is at a drug store or wal-mart.

Richard

post-6348-0-36538400-1384352987_thumb.jp

I am going to try the headliner on a scrapped body I have laying around. I hope my hands and eyes are steady for this. I might make a template out of card stock and get the shape right and then tape it.

Thanks for the good remarks. I have messed with models just a little over the years and it's been at least 20 since I have actually started and finished one. I have quite a few old kits I bought years ago but never built.

Richard