Model Cars Magazine Forum

1920's Ford Model "T" Ambulance

Hi Guys,

Well, while waiting for my Gator Grip glue to arrive for my HEMTT project, I thought that I would start a project with some sentimental value. I began me EMS career as a volunteer with the Palmyra, (NJ) Ambulance Association. They were founded back in 1921, and are reportedly the oldest emergency squad in continuous service in the country. History aside, their first vehicle was depicted on the 75th Anniversary t-shirts

2012-12-03_14-53-55_999-1.jpg

Now I am not an expert on early vehicles, but had picked up this kit at the NNL East a few years ago with this project in mind.

2012-12-10_22-37-13_775.jpg

I knew that there would need to be some modifications to the kit, as this is what the kit side looks like:

PalmyraAmb_02.jpg

The box art conveniently shows a side view of the stock kit. I took some blank index card stock, cut it to shape and mocked up some of the changes that would be required:

2012-12-03_14-53-05_406.jpg

I have made additional progress and will post an update shortly.

All comments and feedback are appreciated. Thanks for looking!

Edited by hooknladderno1

Hi Guys, A brief update... Work has continued on modifying the kit body to more closely resemble the 1:1 ambulance. As you will recall, this was the kit side" PalmyraAmb_02.jpg It now looks like this: 1355689257-picsay1.jpg While not the cleanest build, you can see the high degree of changes that were made. A bit of surface preparation will be done in the next few days. Here is the stock rear: 2012-12-14_21-50-57_5.jpg And the updated rear: 1355689340-picsay1.jpg It looks really cool when taped together(IMHO)... :D Thanks for looking!

Edited by hooknladderno1

Now this is my type of build!

I've lost track of how many Model T variants I've built over the years, but this one is an Ambulance version I've never seen before.