Model Cars Magazine Forum

Biggie Straight 8 Indy Type With Hot Pipes

Howdy to all yinz Big Boyz.

Nice to finally find a niche up my alley. I like total scratchbuilding and since I'm an artist as well, I can make just about any ###### thing I can think of, and the bigger the better. Here's the start of my straight 8 indy type low ridin racer. Hopin to make it just as low as I can. Got the idea to make some of these big things something like the old balsa wood airplanes with the body forms stringered together and then covered with some sort of skin. I originally planned on covering this monster with paper mache and then bondo, but I may just skin it with posterboard so I can have real live panels and seperations between them, and bondo or spackling to smooth it up. That's what's so great about the scratchin', making use of different stuffs. As pumped as I am to get the body going, I'm really looking forward to getting into the exhaust system. Sure would be nice if could make these things full size---scary to drive, but nice. I'm really liking what I'm seeing yinz guys doin. Can't remember who had the '55 Nomad drag racer, but it was awesome!

if you're crappin black, something aint right

Very cool project! I don't know your name.... but please keep posting progress.

If you will accept a suggestion.... I would layout the body skin in fiberglass. That way you can cut open the engine cover and pull out your ribs and interior mold. The shell will be smooth and very strong, plus accept lots of rubbing for a very shiny finish! ;)

Very cool project! I don't know your name.... but please keep posting progress.

If you will accept a suggestion.... I would layout the body skin in fiberglass. That way you can cut open the engine cover and pull out your ribs and interior mold. The shell will be smooth and very strong, plus accept lots of rubbing for a very shiny finish! :)

Hey Jairus,