Model Cars Magazine Forum

Review Renaissance BMW M1 Trans kit for Revell

With the re-release of the Revell Esci BMW M1 Pro Car kit, I thought it would be a great idea to break out a couple of the kits I had been sitting on for a few years and build them. The plan is to build the Lauda M1 Pro Car and the Group 4 spec M1 as driven by Stuck et al at Le Mans. Both cars are in Marlboro livery. The cars will be displayed side by side to show the subtle differences in specification.

Besides the Day Glow Orange and White paint jobs would liven up the display shelf!

The Pro Car spec version is good from the Revell box, requiring very little in the way of extra detail massage. The Group 4 spec car on the other hand has many extra, but very subtle details.

French aftermarket supplier, Renaissance, offers a trans kit that fits the bill!

I attempted to order direct from Renaissance, but due to language issues I was unable to find my way, even with Google translator on, through their website.

I found the kit # Tk 24/333 available from Spot Model of Spain.

As an aside to the review, Spot Model is an absolute joy to deal with. Delivery was on time, complete and professionally packaged. I recommend them highly…….other after market dealers can learn a lot from Spot Model.

The kit arrived just before Christmas and was examined with enthusiasm as I was anxious to get rolling with the next build.

The kit contains appropriate decals with good registration, when compared to similar decals from Studio 27 (for the Pro Car spec build) the Renaissance decals Day Glow Orange impressions appeared slightly washed out. This is not a complaint, as they are extremely usable, but it is an observation, made by direct side by side comparison. All other colors matched the Studio 27 decals.