Model Cars Magazine Forum

Model competition rules of engangment

I am entering a local competition for modellers and as it is my first time i was wondering if there are any does and donts involved in this as far as i can see all i need do is pay my entry fee (it is even subsidised) place my model on the table for judging and pick it up the following day some of you more experienced modellers may be able to give me some pointers to improve my chances.(and save me from embarising myself) incidently it is a motorbike I am entering in 1:9th scale although i tend to do cars but it looks so nice and i am happy with it

I think first and foremost...don't worry about embarrasing yourself. If you like what you build, that is all that really matters. For me, contests aren't about impressing people or expectations of winning trophies. I go to meet people, look at other peoples models, possibly pick up a tip or two and deals from vendors. Where I am located I don't have to worry about winning trophies anyway because of the quality of work I'm up against (Bill Geary, Lyle Willits, Irv Arter, Jeff Sauber, Cruz ...etc etc). My advice...go, have a great time, talk to as many people as you can and don't get hung up on whether or not your model is contest worthy. If you pay the entry fee then it automatically is "contest worthy". Good luck!