Model Cars Magazine Forum

Recycling plastic

Hi. I'm new to the forum but not new to model cars. I've been building for over 55 years, and still learning new things with every kit I finish. (Or even start.) I don't really specialize in any one type of car, but rather if I see an interesting vehicle at a car show, in a magazine, or online, I'll attempt to duplicate it in scale. I don't do a lot of customs or race cars, and would rather build something that I might have seen in my lower-middle class neighborhood growing up. That usually means something with a six cylinder instead of an eight, and something at the base level of the model types. E.g., a Biscayne rather than an Impala, a 150 rather than a Bel Air. I do have a soft spot in my heart for Ramblers, as my first car was a 4 door, 1961 Rambler Classic, in black with a grey interior. (And yes, those wonderful reclining front bench seats.) I have also been known to buy a lot of "basket case models" over the years and have usually been successful at restoring them, or at least giving them a second life as a " plain jane," or a beater. I guess that's a bit like recycling, but I have another type of recycling I'd like to mention. When I'm done with a new model, there is quite a lot of plastic sprue leftover. Sometimes it seems that there is just as much plastic leftover in the box as there is in the finished product. I hate filling up landfills with BLAH_BLAH_BLAH_BLAH that could be reused - especially when so many types of plastics seem to have a 50,000 year shelf life. Has the idea of recycling the leftover plastic trees back to the manufacturers ever been brought up? If so, has it ever gone further than a mere mention? Or maybe there's some chemical reason why styrene can't be recycled? Just thought I'd bring it up. As a wrapup, I just finished (today, in fact) Revell's '57 Ford Custom and it's quite a good kit. Everything fit (although the small caps don't seem to seat correctly on the rim) and I'm very happy w