Model Cars Magazine Forum

MPC Donnie Allison 1971 Mercury Cyclone

hpiguy

Here's a look at the re-release kit.

YES, THE VIDEO DOES HAVE SOME ERRORS, DONNIE WAS NOT DAVEY'S DAD AND THE ENGINE WAS A 429 EVEN THOUGH THE BOX SAYS 427.

THESE VIDEOS ARE DONE FOR FUN, NOT FOR PROFIT OR TO SELL KITS.

:)

Edited by hpiguy

Just a few things....Bobby Allison was Davey's father and that engine is a "Boss" 429. Interesting review though,even with all the errors.

Thank you.

The error on the father/son thing is corrected in the description on You Tube. Wasn't worth re-recording it all.

As far as the engine, below the review in the comment section a guy that says he worked on the kit says that it is a 429, but I nor most people aren't experts enough on the engine to know it wasn't a 427 and was a 429 when the box says 427. Seems the error has continued to the reissue.

I do strive for accuracy, but I do make mistakes. I'm not a NASCAR expert and don't pretend to be. These videos are done by me for fun, not profit or sales. I always appreciate the pointing out of things that I can correct next time though. Thanks. :)

Another great review (other than the few small mistakes already pointed out). Again I like your YouTube reviews. But again, another kit I will not be buying because it can not be built as the stock version of the car. I'd love to see Round 2, or anybody else for that matter, give us a "showroom stock" version of the '70 or '71 Cyclone. Like MPC did in the day, before this version of the kit was first offered.

Scott

Edited by unclescott58

Enjoyed the review, now I don't have to open mine until I want to build it. I do wish the engine wasn't molded in black. I would think it would be a stock engine color. I knew Bobby was Davey's dad but hey we all make mistakes, thanks for the review...

• 2 weeks later...