Model Cars Magazine Forum

Paint Questions and Experiments!

To start off I am a modeling newbie so I am open to all kinds of advice, so feel free to share advice! I decided to do some experimenting today. So I am in the process of finalizing a 1978 corvette but decided to experiment some polishing on an extra hood I painted to mimic the color on the corvette. I used Rustoleum Plastic Primer and Rustoleum Gloss Enamel grey for paint. This shows the difference between the regular enamel gloss compared to when I used the LMG polishing kit (wet sand with 3600,4000,6000,8000,12000) WITHOUT a clear coat. I will also be adding photos in a few days of the difference between Testors Clear Coat and Rustoleum Acrylic Enamel Gloss Clear.

I taped off half of a spare hood I had lying around and began to wet sand. Here is the Before and After

(Clicking on the image makes it easier to see the difference)

post-14371-0-94472900-1409359018_thumb.j

post-14371-0-08024400-1409358958_thumb.j

Now, I don't know if I did this correctly but, I followed the instructions on the kit and I wet sanded increasing the grit with water and a drop of dish soap. The rough, pitted looking side of the hood is the AFTER from the sanding and applying scratch remover polish! and the "smoother" look is the before with just the gloss enamel on it. I was shocked!

I am looking to get that smooth glossy mirror finish everyone is after!

I will also be comparing clear coats before and after polishing once I spray another spare hood and will post the results!

Thanks for reading!

Edited by 1hobby1

Looks to me that you are getting a lot of orange peel. How far back are you shooting from?

Also from the picture you need to spend more time with rougher polishing cloths , the polished paint still has some heavy orange peel.

Another thing how long are you letting the enamel dry before you are polishing it? That may be part of why the paint is duller after polishing.