Model Cars Magazine Forum

Stephen King Inspired Dio-base

Jantrix

After building the theme Cougar I felt it need a dio-base to be something other than just a black street machine. I wanted to set the scene. So I thought I'd give this a try. This is my first attempt at any sort of diorama. So go easy on me.

I started with some low-grit woodworking sandpaper and some dirt (Florida dirt = sand) from my backyard. I added some elements from SK's Dark Tower series for flavor. After I try a couple more details I WILL try to post this up on the forum for Stephen King's website. The billboard is basswood and the stop sign is just printed paper covered with clear tape and backed with aluminum can. The weathering on the stop sign was completely accidental but it sure turned out nice.

100_0644.jpg

100_0646.jpg

100_0647.jpg

Hi....Jantrix....Great Diorama , I also like the stop sign . I see you are from Jax.Flo. I am from Puerto Rico but I go to several events at Florida. Did you go to the IPMS Model Fest at Titusville , Florida last weekend . I was there, (did not compete or exhibit) it was a big event , but as you know (IPMS) does not have many automoble modelers and Dioramas , anyway , I always have fun , great Military and Sci-Fi Dioramas with what I can learn more. There is another big event next month , I did go last year to promote our Puerto Rico's ''Caribbean Scale Auto Expo" I am going to do the same thing this year , but will have some Dioramas on display. It is the IPMS Modelpalooza, May 17-18 at the Central Fl. Fairgrounds. The TableTop Model Car Club will also have ther Model Car Show from June 21-22 at Melbourne Square Mall......Keep up the good Diorama modeling.............Above and Beyond...........Barbo

Edited by Barbo