Model Cars Magazine Forum

I've been wanting to make a rat rod for a while and had a Sonoma model laying around so... :DB)

So far I have started on the chop and cut off the fenders. I plan on using the frame and suspension from a 1937 Ford Pickup and the leftover inline 6 from my '52 Chevy project. I have also started shaving the handles and will be shaving the taillights and trim.

This is my first time chopping a vehicle, so I will be taking my time with this. To chop it, I just cut the roof into quarters to allow it to be expanded to what it needs to be when chopped. Right now I'm in the process of smoothing out the roof. So far no major issues.

I need some ideas on what to do for the suspension. I think I'll do a hybrid of the Ford frame and suspension with some add-ons from the Sonoma. Also, could I get some ideas on what the inline should look like. I work with V engines most of the time so I don't know what type of intakes, superchargers, etc. can be used.

Don't have,many pictures yet, but here's what I have so far.

Prepped for surgery:

100_0426.jpg

100_0427.jpg

And all cut up:

100_0428.jpg

Thanks for looking, I'll try to get more pictures soon.

Edited by 91blaze

Work on this has been a little slow, but I'm making progress. I haven't had time to take pictures, but so far I have the roof almost finished and smoothed the door handles and side trim. Most of my time has been spent test fitting and deciding what to use. I will be building the inline 6 soon for test fitting and getting pictures. I also found a spare bed from a 1920-something truck that I will be using instead of the stock bed. Only pictures are of in-progress roof chopping. These will give you an idea of what it will look like.

Roughly 6 inch chop:

100_0451.jpg

100_0452.jpg