Model Cars Magazine Forum

Revell '49 Merc

VW Dave

Thanks for the great review Dave. I picked up the AMT version which I thought was pretty well done with lots of options,but I have yet to see the Revell kit in the store yet. I'll be sure to pick one up because experience tells me that it will be an easier kit to build than the AMT one.

I am a custom car builder for many years, and the '49 Merc is one of my favorites. Ten years ago, I had the opinion that no model car builder worth his salt could call himself a modeler unless he chopped the top of an AMT '49 Merc, so I did, and it came out and placed in a regional model car contest. But there are inherent problems with AMT's body that takes the chopped top to a new dimension of difficulty. After I primed the body when I completed the top chop, I found that just handling the body with your hands caused the gap in the passenger side cut crack, as the body flexxed way too much. I put a ton of epoxy in the gap, and fortified the entire side so it wouldn't flex so much and crack at the joint. The model is OK now, but weighs as much as a die cast model. hahaha.

I never was a fan of manufacturers issuing an already customized car, such as the A La Kart and others since. I preferred to add my own style of design to an existing stock model to come up with my own version. That has changed in the recent past, so when Revell announced the '49 Merc already chopped, I was already sold.