Model Cars Magazine Forum

clear coats

8) i'm kind of new to modeling , maybe some of you can help me out.

when applying a clear coat, do you spray mist coats like you do the paint or are they all wet coats ?? also how many coats of clear do you apply ?? how long in between coats. thanx for the help

Hi Bob,

First question , what type of paint are you using ? Hopefully you are using a lacquer of some type . The only reason I say that is , thats what I'm most familiar with . And although they require a little more care in the safe handling department , the speed you can work at more than makes up for it .

Tamiya Lacquer in the spray can is an excellent paint if it is available to you . ( not all hobby shops carry it ) Another alternative is automotive paint , which can be had at any of the chain stores . (NAPA , PEP-BOYS , ALLIED what have you ) Make sure you use a primer made specifically for plastic , otherwise some of these color coats will melt plastic .

And finally there is one of my recent favorites , fingernail polish . And although this must be air brushed , there is no shortage of wild colors in the bargain bin of your favorite discount store . (just remember to buy two as the bottles are usually pretty small)

Now back to the original question . When using Tamiya clear I usually dust on three coats .Allowing about ten to fifteen minutes between coats to give the lacquer a little time to "set-up" When dusting on the fourth coat resist the temptation and STOP which is hard to do because its starting to look so nice . Now after waiting about fifteen to twenty minutes lay on the final coat , just a little heavier than the previous coats . The final coat melts the previous coats together and gives that wet look .

A couple of words of caution with the final coat , don't over do it and you won't get the dredded runs . It's always easier to recoat than have to sand off sags and runs in the paint .