Model Cars Magazine Forum

Mopar Hilltop Garage...Completed 10/25/09

1320wayne

Well, this will definately be a year of firsts for me. Certain projects that I have decided to tackle that I have never done before.

And here is another one started. I have never done a diorama in the past but I have been collecting the neccessary materials for a number of years now to eventually do one. So, now it is finally time to get started.

This will be a backyard style garage sitting on a hill with a gradual slope down to a pond on the side of the property. I am starting, of course, with the garage, as this will be the focal point of the diorama.

The building has been framed out with balsa wood along with a removeable roof. There will be a total of three windows and one single entry door into the office space area of the building. It will have a single, oversized bay with an opening garage door. I have plenty of trees for the landscape along with shrubs, bushes and grass. As well there will be a few rock molds worked into the hillside heading down to the pond. The pond will have ducks, geese, a dock and a canoe in the water.

Being that I am a Mopar enthusiast all vehicles in the diorama will be Mopar related.

Check out what I've accomplished so far.

DSC01929-vi.jpg

DSC01930-vi.jpg

DSC01931-vi.jpg

DSC01932-vi.jpg

DSC01936-vi.jpg

Stay tuned for more. Thanks for looking.

Edited by 1320wayne

Here is some more to this one. I went ahead and purchased some windows and an entry door from a dollhouse miniatures company along with a couple of packages of square butt shingles for the roof. The shingles are a chore because you have to add them one at a time. There is a skylight on one side of the roof, over the office and three skylights on the other side to allow more natural light in. The single skylight is actually the window box from a Tamiya garage set.