Model Cars Magazine Forum

Vallejo acrylic for brush paitning

Hi,

I'm getting a good feel for brush painting Tamiya Acrylics which seem to need 1:1 thinner mix.

However I just don't like them as brushing should be fun. I recall using some unknown brand painting lead D&D miniatures about 35 years ago and painting was a joy to me. With Tamiyas, well not so much, but then again I am very new to modeling.

I've spoken to various ppl at my LHS who both use and love Vallejo for brush painting and feel its superior to Tamiya Acrylic bottle paints.

Plus the built in dropper cap is a great idea it seems.

Any thoughts or consensus?

Thanks in advance.

Edited by aurfalien

I've spoken to various ppl at my LHS who both use and love Vallejo for brush painting and feel its superior to Tamiya Acrylic bottle paints.

Plus the built in dropper cap is a great idea it seems.

Any thoughts or consensus?

I have used 2 of their metallics, and they go on as smooth as butter. However, I have a feeling that it's because they put a little bit of detergent in their paint, to help break surface tension and make it flow better. The big problem with this is that the paint does not seem very durable - probably because to get the detergent in, they had to eliminate something else. I have had to wait until after my engines are installed to paint the tranny - when I painted the tranny before finishing the engine, through handling, the paint always started to wear off, and I'd get show-through to the previously applied colors.

Just asking????

I don't use any of these products and am not a big fan of the Water based Acrylics (However I am open minded)

My question is: Any of you who use food dehydrators to help with curing? How much doe's it help? Most things I have read are positive. As Frank had mentioned durability and handling problems, I have experienced this problem with oil based products too (I think we all have)