Model Cars Magazine Forum

Combining Scales

Hello guys

I'm very new to truck building and I've started the Revell Peterbilt 359 Conventional (will post photos soon), and I wanted to know if it's possible to combine a 1/25 tractor with a 1/24 trailer. There seems to be greater variety in terms of 1/24 trailers. Is the scale difference noticeable? or can I get away with it?

Cheers

• 3 weeks later...

I have always been a firm believer in not worrying about the slight difference between 1/24 and 1/25 scales, over small lengths it does not matter to me. I have this custom that is 1/24th scale and the trailer is 1/25th.

HPIM2891.jpg

Better to have a 1:25 tractor with a 1:24 trailer than the other way around. When the trailer is narrower than the tractor, it doesn't look quite right. Watch for the tire sizes too. Bigger tires on the trailer might look off as well.

Something to keep in mind Robert, not all trailers are like todays with a 102 inch wide dimension, many older trailers like the older 70s Wilson trailer in my pic above are only 96 inches wide. That makes the trailer narrower than the tractor, and the difference is so slight in width between the scales that even a new Moebius Great Dane should not be narrow enough to look like an old 96 wide when used on a 1/24 tractor. These two pics are of a 1/24 scale Italeri container (which is also a 96 inch wide older trailer, I scaled it at one time) and the 1/25 Wilson, and I don't see any noticeable difference in width at all.

HPIM1961.jpg

HPIM1956.jpg

Also, I have driven 1:1s that have looked like these pics with older 96 inch wide trailers.