Model Cars Magazine Forum

Airbrush sputtering problem

Hey guys, I have a Badger 200 single action brush that I got new. I have been using it for about 6 months and it has always had a small sputtering problem. Over the months I have tried different things to stop it and haven't found a solution, so I was wondering if anyone had something else to try. Here is the list of what I have done:

1. Used telon tape on all of the fittings in order to seal them

2. messed with air pressure and paint consistancy

3. pulled the brush apart and cleaned it after EVERY use

I use a large compressor for my painting so is it possible that it may have a leak in one of its lines? Not sure what else to try so any other options would be greatly appreciated.

No, I don't believe it is water since I am getting a few paint spots when it sputters. I got the compresser from a friend and it has a water trap, but I am not sure how well it works. I also live in an area where the humidity is very low, if that would help in finding an answer. If I can't figure it out, I guess a new water trap is next on the list.

While you did your cleaning, did you use a brush/Pipe cleaner pushed into the opening in front, causing the Teflon bushing to move or become damaged? As I did with mine, which caused a spitting /sputtering problem .That was rectified at the factory, from a trained technician at absolutely no cost to Me.

No, I don't believe it is water since I am getting a few paint spots when it sputters. I got the compresser from a friend and it has a water trap, but I am not sure how well it works. I also live in an area where the humidity is very low, if that would help in finding an answer. If I can't figure it out, I guess a new water trap is next on the list.

If you are only getting spots of paint then your gun is stopped up

CadillacPat