Model Cars Magazine Forum

Kenworth cab question

Hello guys

can one of you please tell me for which period of time can we use the AMT Kenworth W900 cab?

and for which period of time can the Revell Kenworth W900 cab be used?

thanks a lot for your help.

so long

Arnd

From what I've gathered, the AMT W900 cab is a 1968-72, while the Revell of Germany cab is a 1973-82. The Revell USA/Monogram W900 cab is also a 1973-82, but the AeroDyne sleeper makes the model a post-1976. Hope that helps.

I would say the AMT cab from 1968 to 1971 and the Revell Germany cab from 1972 to 1982.
The hood is different but I don't know how much difference there are between the W900A and W900B cabs and the B model came 1983.

Oh, you did beat me there James...I'm no Kenworth expert but I wasn't that far off. ;)

Edited by Force

Actually, and this is just my opinion, but as for time periods for both unless you are going on a "period" theme, they are just as usable for a modern truck pulling a Moebius 53 foot Great Dane as they are pulling one of AMT's 70s era trailers like the 40 foot Fruehauf vans. Yes, they are not as common today as they would have been new, but there are still some of them out working today.

Thanks a lot for all that Information. I want to build up an Kenworth W900 short hood from around 1970. I tried to get a AMT cab but no luck. And as far as I one from Revell I wanted to know if I can use it too.

So long

Arnd

Yes the doorhandles are different and the later cab has narrower vent windows...but that can be fixed if you want to do an older cab from the Revell Germany kit.