Model Cars Magazine Forum

Ol' Gypsy

Henchmen4Hire

I should point out I'm new to working with model kits, so if I say stupid stuff please correct me haha. I'm looking for some pointers

So this is the car I'm going to build, it's Ol' Gypsy from the Wasteland Angel game.

wastelandcar2_zpsee2e1b18.png

After some clicking around, I figured a '67 Mustang GT500/GT350 body would work well as a base. I'm going to have to do some resculpting anyway so whatevs. I got a 1/25 1967 Shelby Mustang GT350 by AMT, which is okay, but the nose isn't quite right. Seems the game developers designed the car with a combination of bits from different years.

Now the questions!

-My main concern is all the sculpting needed to bulk up the model to give it that boxy aggressive look in the reference picture. I have Apoxie Sculpt, is that okay or are there any other clays/putties you would recommend for model kits?

-Any ideas on how to make the crash bars, pipes, etc? Could I maybe just melt together acrylic rods and sand/reshape them as needed?

-Is there a boxier meaner looking Mustang I could use as the base instead?

-Are there any good places to get cheap model kits? I feel a sting paying 20 bucks for a model I'm just going to damage on purpose!

-Why do people keep thinking I'm going to make Eleanor when I ask if they have a '67 Mustang for sale? haha

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Henchmen4Hire

nice idea :)

pretty ambitious when your new to moddel building hehe

the crash bars could be made from the windows the parts are in from the kit. all depends on the thickness of those some are perfect oher to thick ..

if you really want to make it easy for yourself you could get round styrene from evergreen or .....but thats more expensive and if you can make stuff from scrap its always fun ...

nice idea :)

pretty ambitious when your new to moddel building hehe