Model Cars Magazine Forum

1/12 Scale Scratch Built Street Rod (Updated: 12/19/06)

GTmike400

For the past couple years I've been working on a scratch built street rod. 100% from scratch. Some of you may have seen the past work. I've recently started rebuilding the frame, but here's pictures of the earlier frame, engine, and tranny.

DSCF0011.JPG

DSCF0014.JPG

DSCF0015.JPG

DSCF0016.JPG

I like it a lot

Would like to see it in MCM!!!

Thanks for the kind remark Gregg, I dont feel I am worthy. Im just learning, I have a long way to go. Dont get me wrong, I'd be more than honored to be photographed.

I will be posting up some scratch build seminars, and progress of the new frame soon.

So heres the new frame about thus far.

Here are the brackets for the rear suspension/four links, and the "axel". I still need to machine the differential casing, and third member. I dont have the material for that right now, so the brackets are already soldered on to keep things moving at a steady pace. Once I turn the diff case I will cut the axel in half, slide the case on, and solder it all up.

IMG_0446.jpg

IMG_0448.jpg

img04565ms.jpg

img04576rr.jpg

img04586us.jpg

I've got some material on its way, and I plan to order some tooling soon hopefully. Then I can machine the front control arms out of brass. I hope to start building the new Chevy 502 soon.

Thought I'd post these up.

crank11qn.jpg

crank29rr.jpg

Crankshaft for another scratch build engine, Chevy ZZ502. I first figured out the firing order for the 502, then I looked at a pic of the motor with the head of to figure out where the pistons were when cylinder 1 was at TDC.

Heres the cam, took a long time to figure out but here it is and it works.

Correct valve timing (IVO 6.5° ATDC; IVC 37.5° ABDC; EVO 47.0° BBDC; EVC 3.0° BTDC), .510 Intake Lift, .540 Exhaust Lift, 211° Intake duration, 230° exhaust duration.

cam19dq.jpg