Model Cars Magazine Forum

Contest Car for '09 - PAINTED TODAY

E St. Kruiser50

Hi all :lol:

Well, I haven't done contests for several years here locally, but won a couple of nice awards this last month pretty much accidentally at our last two club meetings.

Kinda got me fired up and the ol' juices flowin' :rolleyes:, for competing again in the area events, and down in Eugene, 100 miles away.

I've always loved competing, starting from back in the late 50's. Not so much about winning, but just the whole "Expectation" thing and being part of the event.

I've never built a theme car before, but our next NNL has the theme of 60's cars which is perfect for a project I wanted to build.

The other event is a challange contest, between two local clubs, ours, SABA, and the Eugene club, LAMA. This is our third "Challange" contest. We meet at a Pizza place half way between the two clubs, eat, tell lie's and show off our stuff - way fun :lol: .

I'll be building a car for each event.

Never built a Chrysler product before in all the years of my building, so I decided this was a good time to "Jump in" ;) .

This is the latest '69 Charger release.

I've always liked the funny car look - Kinda "Wedgy" and "Edgy", and I've wanted to try to do something for the street with that look, and throw in some Pro-Street/Pro-Touring touches, for a muscular "Beefy" look, right off the track - "almost illegal for the street" look, but not look like a JADA die-cast.

The body will actually be pretty stock except for the exagerated "Skirts".

Kinda how I'd build this in 1 to 1 if it were mine.

Here's a couple of shot's of my first "Dodge attempt".

2009_0113Photobucket10048.jpg

2009_0113Photobucket10047.jpg

Edited by Treehugger Dave

hi dave !

your charger gets a very aggressive look - great !!!

i built the 69 charger too, but in a not so aggressive look;-)

how do you made the chrome frames about the rear lights?

greets jürgen

Hi 'jurgen'

Good to hear from you :lol: