Model Cars Magazine Forum

Flamed Riv

JayVee

I'm going to spend some time learning how to paint traditional "crab claw" flames in the style of the master, Brian Nehring. I studied his tutorial numerous times, and I have a lot of reference photos of his work that I'm using to try to get the right look. I don't have the technique under control yet, but I have to start somewhere so this prebuilt Riv will be the guinea pig. I'm using Ultra-Bright chrome foil for masking, and it seems to work well. I finally freehanded some flames that look acceptable:

FlamedRiv1.jpg

FlamedRiv2.jpg

Here's how the painting went. I can get the control that's needed, but I painted it too "spotty". I need to paint smooth strokes in between each flame lick. I'm also going to reverse the blue and purple colors in the scheme. I need to make thinner connections on the flame patterns, and fatter bases on each crab claw. This will allow the white color to show up on each crab claw base.

FlamedRiv3.jpg

This is not a keeper, but at least it shows what I need to work on next.

FlamedRiv4.jpg

It's all about the journey, right? I expect this process to take a few weeks (months?) before I end up with my first keeper.

Thanks guys, I think you're right about it being a matter of practice. I'm prepared for a few more attempts before getting a keeper. This is different than true fire flames in that it's hard to visualize the final result without removing the mask, and then it's too late to change it.

2nd attempt (on styrene sheet):

FlamedRiv5.jpg