Model Cars Magazine Forum

1/8 Offenhauser powered Big T

jbwelda

here is something I have been working on for a couple years now: TDR Innovations Offy motor that will eventually find its way into a Big T based salt flat racer much like the 1/24 one I did some years ago. Similar but not exact, I may end up mounting the engine in the rear and having the pilot stick out of the cowl area...we will see. this promises to be a very long term project so don't expect updates very often...its a back burner.

but for now I have the TDR Ford 4 speed trans pretty much completed and the motor itself is nearly finished from the cylinder head on down, still a lot to do. this is not an especially easy project, or cheap: the hardware alone is running nearly a hundred bucks and the casting on the motor was very very rough. everyone knows an offy motor was pretty much polished metal but no way I was bringing this resin casting near to the state that it could be bare machined metal, so I chose hot rod red for the block and am doing the remainder of it in various metalizers.

heres a look at what I got so far...the chassis and body building will commence sometime this winter probably. meanwhile I am possibly going to use a pair of Weber carbs instead of the fuel injection, but final decision remains to be made after the cam covers and ignition wiring are added and the upper louvered covers done and in place (40 bolt heads per...into a very tiny space, that should be fun!

SImYV3.jpg

q0n9aM.jpg

SCTA tag I made to cover an oops (this resin looks hardy but don't push it!):

hrnven.jpg

ford 4 speed next to motor:

9IAIVv.jpg

and set in place:

fRUa9M.jpg

JnVlgX.jpg