Model Cars Magazine Forum

Opinions on the best rattle can spray paint.

What is your opinion on what brand of spray paint from a rattle can do you think is best? I love the Duplicolor primer but I was wondering about their Perfect Match spray paint and Perfect Match clear coat. Does Duplicolor have something better than their Perfect Match product line that you would recommend? If you were going to use spray paint from a can what would you guys recommend? I know a lot of people on here like Tamiya spray paint and Tamiya clear and I was wondering how it compares to the Duplicolor three part system (primer, Perfect Match color, and Perfect Match clear). My other question is, I have never used a clear coat before and I was wondering what the process is? Do you clear coat first and then foil the car? Also, do you do your detail painting (emblems, front grill, engine compartment parts like the battery) after you clear coat? If you get paint on an area you didn't intend to while detail painting how do you fix it? Do you wipe it away immediately with mineral spirits for enamels, and water or alcohol for acrylics?

To me,the best spray can paint is Tamiya without a doubt. Their metallic paints can't be beat as far as the scale of the metallic. When I first tried laquers,I used some Dupli Color a couple of times,but after I tried the Tamiya paint,I was hooked! For primer,I won't use anything but Plasti Kote.

To me,the best spray can paint is Tamiya without a doubt. Their metallic paints can't be beat as far as the scale of the metallic. When I first tried laquers,I used some Dupli Color a couple of times,but after I tried the Tamiya paint,I was hooked! For primer,I won't use anything but Plasti Kote.

Where do you buy Plasti Kote? I can't find it. I really like the DupliColor primer, however.

p.s. I just found a few retailers near me that carry the Plasti-Kote line. What primer do you use? The plastic primer or the sandable primer? My guess would be the sandable primer.