Model Cars Magazine Forum

Airbrush Recomendations

I plan on investing in a good airbrush with my upcoming tax return and want to hear some feedback on a good one for me to start out on. I know the good stuff costs more and I'm fine with that. I'm completely new to this so ease of use would be a factor, preferably a single action if possible. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

If your going for a single action, I've been using a Paasche H series for a number of years, and had nothing but praise for it, I got the kit with 3 different needle set ups, I've used for enamel, acrylic and lacquer, easy to clean and maintain, and even living in the U.K I find spares easy to obtain direct from Paasche.

Patrick, read Don Wheeler's advice and reviews, and you're sure to find what you need: https://sites.google.com/site/donsairbrushtips/

It's IMHO the best airbrush review and advice 'site on the 'net, and it's pretty clear from reading his reviews what the limitations and strong points of each airbrush are. That said, I suggest you go with a dual action airbrush, as there's not much more cost compared to a single action, and a dual action will do everything you need it to, probably for as long as you own it.

I finally bought an Iwata Eclipse HP-BCS and it was just over $110, so not very expensive at all. You can probably find a good used pancake style compressor on your local craigslist for $50 or so, and be in the airbrush game for less than $300.