Model Cars Magazine Forum

Just wanted to let you guys know that GMP has given the "green light" for 1:24th wheel and tire sets. Their first set will be a '68 Shelby set. These wheels will be detailed and "Goodyear" will be tampo printed on the tires. If this venture proves to be successful, more tire and wheel sets will be made available. The retail will be $9.95 for a set of 4. Obviously, you will need to modify these to fit your models. I've used "mint" type wheels and tires in the past and it really adds a new dimension to the model.

Thank you all for your kind words. I've been out of circulation for so long I figured I was forgotten by now!

I've been bugging GMP to do wheel and tire sets for quite a few years. I even started getting others to write in. This is a market test and if sales are good, there will be more to come. The K-H are the 5 spokes that look like double spoke Magnums. It was distinctive to a '67 Shelby. I should also point out that the GT type wheel could be done as well as the steel slotted wheel w/cap and trim rings. GMP also did '69 Cyclones and GTOs. The GTOs have a nice selection of wheels and tries. As programs evolve, new sets would be introduced. You will have to adapt them, but this bunch should be good at that. I did managed to get GMP to agree to keep the sets under $10. I'd like to see them made easily available and affordable. When I built my '70 Nova SS I used Mint type wheels and tires and that model popped. I know I can paint tire letters pretty well but I have to say the detail is pretty crisp and I wondered why I wasted all that time!

heres what i want:

lotus "wobbly webs" with dunlop tyres

some magnesium halibrand (i believe they were) ten (?) spoke front wheels like used on gasser fiats in the sixties

nice halibrand kidney bean wheels front and rear

and the last two in 1/8th scale for big drag/deuce/rod etc

good luck, i know.

one love

jah bill