Model Cars Magazine Forum

Monogram Classic Crusier 37 Ford Sedan

DRG

I bought this kits several weeks ago but just opened it and took a look.

I am impressed and will get a few lore of these.

Perhaps I'm not a Model expert but I like this a lot.

1937FordSedan003.jpg

1937FordSedan004.jpg

1937FordSedan005.jpg

1937FordSedan006.jpg

Boy I can't wait to clear the bench and start on this one.

They are all pretty nice kits. I am glad to see they put the newer wheels in it. The only problem I have with it is that I like to build mine w/o bumpers. Doing so with this kit shows the inaccurate center panel on the rear. You can easily fix it by cutting from the body & gluing it onto the fenders. Really minor though.

Mike

I remember when this kit first came out back in 1987. It was an immediate hit. It builds up nicely and has that "not from the 60s" street rod look to it.

My only gripe, and its not really a gripe but an observation, is that the roof is chopped. Its a small chop, yes, maybe 2"-3" tops, but its not stock height. So much for my aspirations to do a stock '37. That aside, its a great kit, and the newer wheels are a nice addition.

I don't remember if it's this kit or the coupe, but I seem to remember one version of this '37 having mismatched directional wheels on one side.I haven't built one in ages, but I do like this kit. About my only real gripe is that Chevy engine. Groan...

Chuck, I think it was the droptop with the trailer that has the funky wheels. As for the Chevy engine being a "gripe", yeah I know smallblock Fords are the in thing but remember, this kit is vintage 1987 and for then, the 350 in the kit was state of the art...!