Model Cars Magazine Forum

Revell Peterbilt 359 (First Build)

Hey guys, this is my first build ever. I got it for Christmas from my brother, and I thought I was never going to finish it! Well I finished it about a month ago and I think it turned out so-so. The paint came out better than expected (testors one coat lacquer) it only has one run, and it is on a front fender. However there is no detail paint, a poor interior and no bmf. I only used one of the gaudy decals, that is on the back of the truck. Also the windshield is missing due to overspray because I forgot it was on there. Also, how do you truck guys afford to build trucks??? I understand this one is like 20 bucks, but I really love the KW Wrecker kit but I can't drop the coin. Seriously $70+ for a model, that is insane. I think I'll just stick to cars and pickups :-( . Finally, can you guys give me some pointers on my work? I don't care if you say it is bad, just tell me what I can do better.

HhO7dyv.pngTDoJiTI.pngEH98tbX.png

Good first attempt. Keep at it is the best advice. I learn something from every build I do. Look at the forum for advice on your future builds. Magazines are worth a look. Car guys do some cool stuff that can be applied to trucks such as bare metal foil, airbrushing and panel lines. Maybe get a couple of 1/32 trucks to practice on as well. Cheers

Ben

To be honest, this isn't a bad build at all.....You did a very good job getting those infernal wheels and tires together....I've found that it depends on the model, itself, as to whether or not they go together right or not....Yours looks good....And the paint came out quite nice, as well....And if you hadn't said there was no windshield, we wouldn't have known.... :D Looks good thataway.....And I'm with you on the decals....You've used them quite tastefully.....I like it....Very nice work....

Edited by kilrathy10

Pretty impressive, and your ahead of the game as you finished it. As said the paint looks nice.