Model Cars Magazine Forum

Using baby/talcum powder for mold release for master

Ok, I think I finally have my resin issue solved! I have a resin master that looks acceptable, but it is in primer. I am considering using baby/talcum powder this time as a mold release on my master. Will this work? I know a lot of you guys use this for the resin copies you are making, but what about the master when making the mold?

Thanks!

Thanks wisdonm. So basically you are saying to just pour the Silicon directly onto the bare part, no release? That would certainly simplify things for me, as you might guess if you are familiar with my previous thread regarding the chrome issues.

Thanks!

:D SiliconE. SilicoN is sand. :D

Don's absolutely right by the way. The mold will duplicate even the TINIEST flaw on the surface, including talcum powder, and transfer that flaw to every single part you make from the mold.

My own molds will have a 400-grit-sanded surface if the final sanding of the master was done with 400, a 1000-grit-sanded-surface if the final sanding was done with 1000, or mirror-polished if the master was mirror-polished. The parts made in the molds duplicate that surface as well.

Baby talcum powder most likely also has some kind of skin conditioner like lanolin in it, and unknown chemical contaminants should be avoided.

Edited by Ace-Garageguy

Hi David,