Model Cars Magazine Forum

"portable" modeling kit...grab and go?

hello all,

Newbie here when it comes to modeling. I have not done one since I was a kid. My first model as an adult came in today (49 ford).

I am slowly collecting the basic supplies (and a few extras) to get going.

I have been reading on the forum for a while now. I especially love this thread for work area inspiration (Work bench Saturdays):

http://www.modelcars...showtopic=24630

Most of you (not all of course) seem to have a dedicated area to work and keep your supplies. All the pictures I see in there..seem to be in your homes.

I am not home that much. Seems like I am always somewhere else when I have free time. :wacko:

Anyway, Does anyone have a "portable modeling kit" that they just grab and take with them on business trips or anything?

Pictures would be very much appreciated.

I was originally thinking tackle box..but.. I live in a smaller town. The only place to get such a thing locally is walmart. They only have a few smaller ones left at this time of the year. Not much inspiration there.

I can order whatever i want online...but I really want to hear and see what works for you before I make that investment.

Thank you,

Brian

post-10388-0-39505900-1345969591_thumb.j

Edited by Brian_B

As one of the resident trucker-builders here, a tackle box is exactly what I use. I will have to wait until daytime to photograph it, but it's about the size of a toolbox. I have just about my entire supply of bottled paint the only ones I leave behind are "specialty" colors (like specific manufacturers engine colors - GM Red, Ford Blue, etc) that aren't called for in most kits I'd grab at random off my stash shelf. I have sanding implements, fillers, knives, brushes, glue and all the rest staged through the various drawers and compartments. Frankly it's 10x more organized than it ever seems to get on my home bench.