Model Cars Magazine Forum

1/4 Scale Hemi ! Size Comparison

This is something I've been working on for the last 7 or 8 months , a little bit here and there . It's the Testor's 1/4 scale Dodge 426 Hemi built straight out of the box . It was a fun distraction from building kits with all those little pieces I can hardly see !

My only complaint with the kit is that even at this size the carburetors are lacking alot of detail .

Thanks for looking .

BOB .

Edited by TooOld

That builds up nice. Is it pre colored or did you paint it all ?

It's all plastic , molded in clear and dark gray and some really nice chrome . It is a working visible V8 just like the old Revell kit , but alot more detailed .

I did the same thing with mine, painted half and left the other half clear.

Yours look a lot better than mine though.

Everybody else, this really is an awesome kit.

Even if you aren't into Mopars it is an amazing build.

It could even be a really good instructional tool on how an engine works.

Thanks Bonekrosha . How about some pictures of yours ? I'm sure it looks okay .

If anyone is interested , these kits can be found on Ebay . Some are pricey , but deals on open kits turn up quite often . I got this kit ( orange box ) for $21 plus $18 shipping . I also picked up the Race version ( green box ) for $25 plus $16 shipping . Hawk makes the same kits without the working internals . I've seen them for as little as $10 bucks !

Edited by TooOld

• 2 weeks later...

I was talking with a friend last night who wanted to know how big this engine really is . So I thought I'd post a couple of pictures so everyone could see the size of it .

The first picture is with my 1/25 Hemi Wagon .

This is with a 1/18 scale hemi engine .

Edited by TooOld

• 2 weeks later...