#1 Mr. Can Am Garage

Mr. Can Am Garage

MCM Ohana

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 712 posts

Posted 03 March 2007 - 02:38 PM

Posted Image

About 10 years ago, MRC released this garage kit. The details are real nice but the building it's self is way too small to be realistic.

So that was why I build the original Jackson's Garage which eventually turned into The Can Am Garage.

Well, it's time to get back to basics and Jackson's Texaco is going to be it. It's being built to serve two purposes - One as a photo backdrop for exterior shots and Two - As a proper diorama that I can take to model shows/contests.

Posted Image

Original sketch for the exterior photo backdrop concept.

Posted Image

This is the general layout for the finished diorama.

Posted Image

This gave me some general dimensions to work with when I started drawing up the actual building plans.

Posted Image

First rough one.

Posted Image

Posted Image

These two show the final building plan.

Posted Image

I was talked into making the final plans full size. Yeah, it was a pain to do but it'll make construction of the building much easier.

Posted Image

The 'Vette is in one bay and the lift's in the other.

Posted Image

Jack's on the curb outside while Jackson is checking out his office.

It looks as though my dimensions are right on. Cool.

My plan is work on this off and on over the next year with the general plan to have it finished and on display at NNL East (Parsippany, NJ) in March of '08.

#2 455 Rocket

455 Rocket

MCM Friend

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 119 posts

Posted 03 March 2007 - 06:13 PM

John, I also bought this kit when it came out and have been buying parts and tools for it ever since. One of these days, I'll get caught up on enough of my models and get to it. I had the same idea of adding extra bays, but I think I'll do 3 so I can get all my "stuff" in there. I look forward to seeing your progress.

#3 Mr. Can Am Garage

Mr. Can Am Garage

MCM Ohana

• Members