Jump to content


Bought my Airbrush! But....


  • You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 jayhkr

jayhkr

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Overland Park, Ks
  • Full Name:Edward Sola

Posted 27 February 2012 - 05:56 PM

Well I had some good luck this weekend at the casino so I bought my Paasche H airbrush set from Hobby Lobby using the 40% off coupon. Not a bad deal however I think I may have to take it back. I think I got 2 #1 needle sets and a #3 set instead of 1,3, & 5. The #3 is already installed on the brush and there are 2 packages with the exact same part number on it "H1HC1". I'm assuming that the other way to tell what size the needle set is, is by the number of rings on them. I'm sure those that have the H model know what I'm talking about. The ones in the bag have one ring on them and the one installed has 3 rings. On the box I can see one with 5 rings. So I won't be practicing anything tonight, hopefully they have another to exchange, if not I have to make a longer drive to another one. Anyway, wanted ya'll to know I finally got my brush, pretty excited to start "re-learning" to use it again. I'm sure my neighbors will love me now hearing my compressor kick on every now and then. Shouldn't kick on to much, it's an 8 gallon tank. Needs a new moisture/oil trap though (harbor freight here I come). Thought I would get the bigger trap on the tank itself then get an inline disposable one too. Never used those so I don't really know if I want to cut my airline or not. Anyway enough rambling!

#2 diymirage

diymirage

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,507 posts
  • Location:michigan
  • Full Name:Eelco Egelmeer

Posted 27 February 2012 - 07:09 PM

never checked the part numbers on my needles BUT youre right about the rings
thats how i keep them apart
though i cant remember now if it is 1-2-3 or 1-3-5
iether way, it sound like you do have a double

#3 JunkPile

JunkPile

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,020 posts
  • Location:Kansas, USA
  • Full Name:Chuck Saxton

Posted 28 February 2012 - 02:02 AM

Edward, yes to #1, #3, #5. If the store you got your airbrush doesn't have another one in stock another Hobby Lobby is not too far away from you.

#4 jayhkr

jayhkr

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Overland Park, Ks
  • Full Name:Edward Sola

Posted 28 February 2012 - 03:07 AM

Thanks. Just wanted to be sure before I started ripping into everything. Lets hope that round two fairs better!

#5 crazyjim

crazyjim

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,170 posts
  • Location:Citrus Springs, FL

Posted 28 February 2012 - 03:12 AM

Check the box before leaving the store. If you get another incorrect box, have the store call the other store for a visual inspection of their box before driving over there. Gas is expensive. Let your fingers do the walking.

Did you get a quick disconnect fitting? Makes cleaning so much easier & quitter. Also replace the set screw with a longer set screw that's been Loctited into a thumbscrew. (Lowe's).

Edited by crazyjim, 28 February 2012 - 03:13 AM.


#6 Dr. Cranky

Dr. Cranky

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,426 posts
  • Location:Transylvania, Florida
  • Full Name:Virgil "Doctor Cranky" Suarez

Posted 28 February 2012 - 04:21 AM

It sounds actually like someone switched out the needles on you. Take it back, I am sure they will give you another one. Jim is right, don't leave the store without checking.

#7 jayhkr

jayhkr

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Overland Park, Ks
  • Full Name:Edward Sola

Posted 28 February 2012 - 05:19 AM

I had planned on checking the new box before I leave, gas is ridiculous. The set screw idea is a good one, I have to pick up some laquer thinner anyway! I have a quick disconnect on the hose to tank, but not hose to AB. I thought the same thing but I was the one that took the box wrapper off and there was mfg tape sealing the box. I blame "inspector #1200". LOL

Thanks again guys!

#8 WoodyRDC

WoodyRDC

    MCM Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Location:Dayton, Ohio
  • Full Name:Robert D Curtis

Posted 28 February 2012 - 05:29 AM

The needles are very different, #1 is very slender for control and thin paint -- #3 is less slender for normal every day use -- #5 is like a blunt edge (lol) for thick paint Do you have 3 diff ones or are some identical

#9 Art Anderson

Art Anderson

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,262 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 06:14 AM

Well I had some good luck this weekend at the casino so I bought my Paasche H airbrush set from Hobby Lobby using the 40% off coupon. Not a bad deal however I think I may have to take it back. I think I got 2 #1 needle sets and a #3 set instead of 1,3, & 5. The #3 is already installed on the brush and there are 2 packages with the exact same part number on it "H1HC1". I'm assuming that the other way to tell what size the needle set is, is by the number of rings on them. I'm sure those that have the H model know what I'm talking about. The ones in the bag have one ring on them and the one installed has 3 rings. On the box I can see one with 5 rings. So I won't be practicing anything tonight, hopefully they have another to exchange, if not I have to make a longer drive to another one. Anyway, wanted ya'll to know I finally got my brush, pretty excited to start "re-learning" to use it again. I'm sure my neighbors will love me now hearing my compressor kick on every now and then. Shouldn't kick on to much, it's an 8 gallon tank. Needs a new moisture/oil trap though (harbor freight here I come). Thought I would get the bigger trap on the tank itself then get an inline disposable one too. Never used those so I don't really know if I want to cut my airline or not. Anyway enough rambling!


Paasche H-series airbrush "Material Control" units are clearly marked as to which one they are, with a thin machined "ring" on both parts: 1 ring #1, 3 rings #3, and 5 rings #5.

I would not worry too much, just take the thing back, get them to dig out another one, exchange the extra #1 Material Control for a #5. (Now that I've said that, I have NEVER used a #5 in all my years of airbrushing with Paasche H's--I never felt the need for THAT much paint)

Art

#10 LoneWolf15

LoneWolf15

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,318 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh Pa.

Posted 28 February 2012 - 06:24 AM

That much paint has nothing to do with the size of the head , Art . That is controlled by the depth of the needle . The # 5 head has a wider fan and gives a larger overall spray pattern with each pass .

This allows for a smoother overall finish and avoids the dreaded " tiger stripe " pattern .

#11 Chillyb1

Chillyb1

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Location:Illinois
  • Full Name:Curtis

Posted 28 February 2012 - 07:38 AM

This allows for a smoother overall finish and avoids the dreaded " tiger stripe " pattern .

One of these days I'm going to have to start listening to your advice, Donn. I've always found the #5 on my VL to be overkill. I'm not sure if I doing something wrong when I use it, but it never satisfies. I use my #3 almost exclusively. Maybe I need to experiment more with both the #1 and #5 needles. They are so easy to change, it isn't like that's what's stopping me. Sometimes I see that dreaded "tiger stripe" when I'm painting but find that it disappears when the paint dries.

Anyway, good luck with your new airbrush. You are going to love using it.

#12 LoneWolf15

LoneWolf15

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,318 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh Pa.

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:42 AM

When you guys finally figure out that the Good Lord could not be so cruel as to make me as dumb as I look , it'll be alright , Chilly ! Lol !

As I said , all you have to do is adjust the needle to control the amount of paint being shot through . Once you have that down , you're going to have a nice wide fan pattern that you can mist coats on until your hearts content !

#13 jayhkr

jayhkr

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Overland Park, Ks
  • Full Name:Edward Sola

Posted 28 February 2012 - 05:15 PM

Ok, got it exchanged bought a few more things for it, now I just need to play around with it. To bad I've been up since 3am and I'm struggling to even type this up. Tomorrow is a new day and I'm super excited about it. I dunked my '59 Corvette body that I'm currently working on in LA's Totally Awesome so I can redo it. I'll post some pictures of what the paint looked like later, it was worse than horrible. Going to follow Donn's advice that was on his DVD and see what I can do with it now. Only difference is I'm thinking of using Future instead of the spray on clear. Everything else will be done to the letter. Pictures to come!