Jump to content


Viper powered charger/magnum New Update 6/15/12


  • You cannot reply to this topic
23 replies to this topic

#1 Kaleb

Kaleb

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Central Ar
  • Full Name:Joshua

Posted 12 May 2012 - 02:01 PM

First of all I want to thank those who have traded with me to get it this far. VWDave for the magnum kit and Assa9 for the viper engine. I will be buying some other stuff for it like four racing seats and other decals.

I've got a couple other projects on the burners.. But this one I'm getting ready for shows.

I bought the jimmy flinstone body at the last show for 5 bucks. So far I have almost everything I need for this build. I'm going to do my best to finish this build lol because every time I post on the workbench I never finish. So here goes.

Posted Image

It will have three screens with two 12" inverted subs, powered by two kicker amps, and a Ps2. The subs, amps and ps2 are from scale dreams. Posted Image

Here are the wheels. This is the custom wheel from the magnum kit. I have cut part of it out to open it up. Here is the before and after.

The Ps2 is going in the side panel when the back is opened.
Posted Image
Posted Image

Edited by Kaleb, 15 June 2012 - 12:58 PM.


#2 Kaleb

Kaleb

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Central Ar
  • Full Name:Joshua

Posted 12 May 2012 - 02:03 PM

The viper engine fits like a glove
Posted Image

Started on the center console
Posted Image


O yea almost forgot. This car will light up to. With fiber optics and L.E.D.S. Thanks for looking.

#3 martinfan5

martinfan5

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,401 posts
  • Location:Los Santos, San Andreas
  • Full Name:Jonathan Stephens

Posted 12 May 2012 - 02:04 PM

How much work is going to be need to make the viper engine fit?, I like the idea, now the PS2 is a little out dated lol, where is the PS3 in resin lol

#4 Kaleb

Kaleb

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Central Ar
  • Full Name:Joshua

Posted 12 May 2012 - 02:05 PM

No work at all. Right now. The first pic has the block and transmission with the interior pan.

I would put an updated Xbox or Ps3 if they had one.

Edited by Kaleb, 12 May 2012 - 02:06 PM.


#5 Assa9

Assa9

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Portland ore
  • Full Name:Jeff butler

Posted 12 May 2012 - 02:16 PM

So this is what you needed the engine for i was wondering what you were going to use it for. Very good im in for the show

#6 Kaleb

Kaleb

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Central Ar
  • Full Name:Joshua

Posted 12 May 2012 - 02:23 PM

Yep, the magnum came without an engine so I definitely needed one either way. So why not go for a viper. I did have a crazy notion of making it a twin turbo.

#7 martinfan5

martinfan5

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,401 posts
  • Location:Los Santos, San Andreas
  • Full Name:Jonathan Stephens

Posted 12 May 2012 - 02:34 PM

Just after I posted, you posted the pic of the engine in the chassis lol, I was teasing about the PS2, I think it would be cool to make it a twin turbo, If I could figure how to make turbos, I would make everything with turbos :D

#8 Kaleb

Kaleb

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Central Ar
  • Full Name:Joshua

Posted 12 May 2012 - 02:43 PM

Shucky makes turbos. They are great, if he still sells them. I have one huge turbo and I may buy another for this build.

#9 bryan_m

bryan_m

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,501 posts
  • Location:Lost in America
  • Full Name:Bryan Mccallum

Posted 12 May 2012 - 03:38 PM

way cool project! ill be watchin this one!!

cheers!
bryan

#10 Kaleb

Kaleb

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Central Ar
  • Full Name:Joshua

Posted 15 May 2012 - 04:25 AM

No new update yet. I may have one on the chassis this afternoon. Anyone know what the chassis are like on the magnums? If not I'm going to leave it satin black.

#11 Timeline

Timeline

    MCM Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:Tartu, Estonia
  • Full Name:Karl

Posted 15 May 2012 - 06:12 AM

Good idea, but why leaving a viper without an engine? :D

#12 martinfan5

martinfan5

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,401 posts
  • Location:Los Santos, San Andreas
  • Full Name:Jonathan Stephens

Posted 15 May 2012 - 10:32 AM

No new update yet. I may have one on the chassis this afternoon. Anyone know what the chassis are like on the magnums? If not I'm going to leave it satin black.


I think the chassis is either body color, or primer with over spray, I did one body color, but only part, I can post a pic if you want to see how I did it.

#13 Kaleb

Kaleb

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Central Ar
  • Full Name:Joshua

Posted 15 May 2012 - 11:56 AM

Thanks but I'm going to leave it black. I need to concentrate on the major stuff on this project.

Got the engine painted and in the chassis. I still have to wire it and get the covers on.
Posted Image

Very little modifications to make this fit.

Here is the transmission by itself and looks like its been worked on
Posted Image

Edited by Kaleb, 15 May 2012 - 11:57 AM.


#14 Kaleb

Kaleb

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Central Ar
  • Full Name:Joshua

Posted 15 May 2012 - 11:57 AM

And then here is the engine block.
Posted Image

#15 Dr. Cranky

Dr. Cranky

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,422 posts
  • Location:Transylvania, Florida
  • Full Name:Virgil "Doctor Cranky" Suarez

Posted 15 May 2012 - 12:28 PM

You have some good details started, and that engine is excellent. Love how you've painted it. Keep it going.

#16 jdmfan

jdmfan

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Location:calgary ab
  • Full Name:chris lomenda

Posted 15 May 2012 - 12:29 PM

Looking good . Keep up the good work

#17 Kaleb

Kaleb

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Central Ar
  • Full Name:Joshua

Posted 17 May 2012 - 11:47 AM

While I am waiting on my batteries, battery holders, and L.E.D.s Ive been working on the suspension and placement of the lights. I have also been working on the Exhaust with aluminum tubing. This is my first time working with tubing.

This is the top side where the L.E.D.s will be placed. I drilled out the wrong hole but its easily fixed, because its where the exhaust cross brace will be.
Posted Image
This is the correct place for the L.E.D.s. It was an existing hole from the factory exhaust.
Posted Image
Posted Image

#18 cahilj

cahilj

    MCM Regular

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Location:KS
  • Full Name:James Cahill

Posted 18 May 2012 - 04:38 AM

Nice build! I had the same build plan, but without the LEDs and stereo stuff. You've stepped it up a notch.

#19 Mopar - D

Mopar - D

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,400 posts
  • Location:Houston
  • Full Name:Dan Slade

Posted 18 May 2012 - 07:58 AM

Joshua there are 4 heat shields on the underside that are stainless steel unpainted on the 1:1.

#20 Kaleb

Kaleb

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Central Ar
  • Full Name:Joshua

Posted 23 May 2012 - 08:42 AM

Thank you, went ahead and painted them silver. The underside will be detailed but not like the interior or exterior.

Here is a minor update on the lights.
Make sure you have plenty of clamps lol I ran out.
Posted Image

I may have to run two more lights for the middle
There are two in the middle where the exhaust was held in place I figured I would utilize those holes
Posted Image

Here is the start of the exhaust. The top is sprue and the back is aluminum tubing. The tubing was not bending the way I wanted without kinks.
Posted Image