#1 rustymodeler

rustymodeler

MCM Friend

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Full Name:Jerred Crooker

Posted 05 September 2012 - 12:34 PM

Hey guys, I have been wanting to do some kind of diorama for along time now and wasnt sure what I wanted to do, so I decided to build a garage. I have never done anything like this before and was not sure where to start so I researched framing garages and found alot od good stuff. It would be completely difficult to frame it just like the professionals do, but I think it turned out pretty good. I am going to try to put balso wood on the sides and find something to use as siding. If anyone has any ideas I could use for the siding please help me out here. Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#2 crazyjim

crazyjim

MCM Ohana

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,286 posts

Posted 05 September 2012 - 12:43 PM

Looks pretty realistic. I'll be watching your progress because want/need to build a diorama.

#3 charlie8575

charlie8575

MCM Ohana

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,538 posts
  • Full Name:Charlie

Posted 05 September 2012 - 07:10 PM

Evergreen makes some styrene clapboard that looks pretty good. You might want to try that.

I believe Northeastern and Kappler Scale Lumber also offer individual bass or balsa clapboards.

Grandt Line and Northeastern have windows that will work, or you can scratch them.

Charlie Larkin

#4 rustymodeler

rustymodeler

MCM Friend

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts

Posted 06 September 2012 - 12:22 AM

Thanks for the kind words Jim, and thank you Charlie for the information much appreciated.

#5 GTMust

GTMust

MCM Ohana

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,014 posts
  • Full Name:Tony Durham

Posted 06 September 2012 - 03:05 AM

Looking good Jerred. Don't forget to add a 3' x 7' door somewhere. Also increase the size of the header over the garage door (scale double 2" x 8") and add the studs above it.

Great start!

Tony

#6 Johnny K

Johnny K

MCM Friend